Libraries of Fairmont State University and Pierpont Community & Technical College

 
           

Library News

Upcoming Common Reader Events

Thu, 10/19/2017 - 13:58 -- Libstaff A

 

“Radio Astronomy – Mapping the Universe"

Tuesday, October 24

5-7 p.m. in Library MMA

Presentation by Dr. Jay Lockman, an astronomer with the Green Bank Observatory, a center for radio astronomy involved in the international search for extraterrestrial intelligence (SETI) located in the National Quiet Zone, near Green Bank, West Virginia.

The program is free and open to the public. MMA is located on the ground floor of the campus library.

common reader events

A nature exhibit from Cynthia Staley

Wed, 09/06/2017 - 18:19 -- Libstaff A

 

Campus Community:

I am delighted to share with you a nature exhibit from Cynthia Staley now on display in the main lobbies of the Ruth Ann Musick Library at Fairmont State.  This is the first of what I hope to be many exhibits highlighting the good work of our faculty, staff, and students at FSU.  I am sharing below just four of the twenty-one photos now on display.  All of them are remarkable and most were taken right here in West Virginia.  Our second exhibit, coming in September, will focus on the first 50 years of Fairmont State when we were known as Fairmont State Normal School. 

We are very proud of the work of our campus community in its many forms.   

flower2

More to come,

John

**************

John Lympany

Vice President and Chief Information Officer

Fairmont State University

1201 Locust Avenue (129A Colebank)

Fairmont, WV 26554

304-367-4953 (W)   859-353-1542 (C)

ProQuest Ebook Central downtime - Saturday, October 27

Thu, 08/24/2017 - 09:04 -- Libstaff A

ProQuest has notified us of planned maintenance downtime starting at 12 p.m. on Saturday, October 27.

From the vendor :

/******

Product Maintenance Notification 
 
Dear Valued Customer:
 
To maintain the currency and security of ProQuest ebook platforms, Ebook Central, PubCentral, and LibCentral will be unavailable for approximately 90 minutes beginning Saturday, October 27, 2018 at 9 a.m. Pacific Daylight Time.
 
Down times around the world:
 
United States (EDT): Saturday, 27 October, 12:00 p.m. through Saturday, 27 October, 1:30 p.m.
United Kingdom (GMT): Saturday, 27 October, 5:00 p.m. through Saturday, 27 October, 6:30 p.m.
Australia (AEDT): Sunday, 28 October, 3:00 a.m. through Sunday, 28 October, 4:30 a.m.
Tokyo (JST): Sunday, 28 October, 1:00 a.m. through Sunday, 28 October, 2:30 a.m.
China (CST): Sunday, 28 October, 12:00 a.m. through Sunday, 28 October, 1:30 a.m.

*****/

Please plan accordingly. Other databases will be available and can be accessed on this page.

Fake News

Thu, 02/09/2017 - 16:09 -- Libstaff A

Pages

Subscribe to Library News