Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Churchill Livingstone's Dictionary of Nursing
This Dictionary features: over 7500 entries; website with spellchecker, expanded topics, word of the day, prefixes, suffixes, and links to useful websites and core texts.
Also: compact format; edited by a Registered Nurse for a true nursing focus; includes new words and terms; and over 60 new illustrations.
A Dictionary of Nursing
This latest edition of the best-selling, comprehensive and authoritative Dictionary of Nursing has been fully updated and revised to take account of recent developments in nursing practice and related fields. Coverage of advances in the field includes general nursing, statistics, common scales and indexes, religion and spirituality, and commonly used abbreviations. The Dictionary provides readers with a comprehensive treatment of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions.
The text is enhanced by illustrations and tables.
These eBooks are part of our nursing reference collection.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
Written for students and professionals in the field. Entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment.
Also discusses the roles of all major health professionals.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions
The completely revised, bestselling, trusted Mosby's Dictionary is an all-in-one reference to help you make sense of the complex world of health care, from a to zymorphic. It features superior-quality definitions plus full-color illustrations.
Mosby's Dictionary also includes encyclopedic entries to explain more difficult concepts in depth, appendixes with practical quick-reference information.