Skip to Main Content

Fairmont State University Faculty Awards and Faculty Grant 2023-2024: Excellence in Academic Advising


Please make sure you have reviewed the eligibility, criteria, and deadline below.

Deadline:  April 3, 2024

Send nominations letters via email to Pamela Stephens at

Note: This award is not chosen by the Faculty Development Committee.

Past Winners

1995-1996       Judith Kruetzer

1996-1997       Anthony Brizendine

1997-1998       Gregory Hinton

1998-1999       Joanne Van Horn

1999-2000       Patricia Ryan

2000-2001       Aletta Moffett

2001-2002       Robert Grattan

2002-2003       Carl Colebank

2003-2004       Tia Richardson

2004-2005       Kimberly Murphy

2005-2006       Angela Schwer

2006-2007       Clarence Rohrbaugh

2007-2008       Donna Long

2008-2009       Erin Hippolyte

2009-2010       Matthew Hokom

2010-2011       G.H. Budd Sapp

2011-2012       J. Robert Baker

2012-2013       Ann Bartolo

2013-2014       Nenad Radulovich

2014-2015       Jennifer Myers

2015-2016        Mark Flood

2016-2017        Kimberly Derico

2017-2018      Amanda Metcalf

2018-2019      Jason Noland

2020-2021      Travis Wamsley

2022-2023      Jan Kiger

2023-2024       Jim Davis








Award for Excellence in Academic Advising

Award for Excellence in Academic Advising


The Award for Excellence in Academic Advising is presented to honor a full-time faculty member who demonstrates excellence in academic advising, a commitment to advisees at the undergraduate and/or graduate levels, and who significantly and positively impacts the education, personal and professional development, and success of their advisees.

This award is given to acknowledge exemplary academic advising and as an encouragement to all faculty advisors to persist in their efforts to help students achieve their academic, personal, and professional goals.

Fairmont State University recognizes that advising is a teaching opportunity beyond course selection that requires the knowledge and use of a variety of academic advising approaches and techniques.  


1. All Fairmont State University full-time faculty advisors with a minimum of two years of service as an academic advisor are eligible for nomination.

2. Previous winners of the Award for Excellence in Academic Advising Award are not eligible.



Nomination Process

Nominations can be submitted by students, faculty members, school chairs, administrators, and staff members. No anonymous nominations will be accepted.

Send nomination letters to Pamela Stephens at

Or, you may use the nomination form located at the bottom.

Selection Process

The selection committee, comprised of members of the Fairmont Advising Network (FAN), reviews all nominations submitted to ensure the nominees’ qualities and achievements demonstrate excellence and commitment to high-quality academic advising.

The selection committee will consider clarity, specificity, and examples that illustrate the faculty advisor’s use of academic advising practices and techniques that respond to the academic and professional needs of their advisee population. Availability of the faculty advisor to their students, faculty, and staff will also be considered.  

Awards will be presented during the annual Awards Banquet in April.


Nominations will not be accepted after Wednesday, April 3, 2024.

Academic Advising Award Nomination Form