Skip to Main Content

Fairmont State University Faculty Awards and Faculty Grant 2023-2024: Faculty Recognition Award

Past Faculty Recognition Award Winners

Jennifer Myers (2011-2012)

Tim Oxley (2012-2013)

Gwendolyn Jones (2013-2014)

Robin Payne (2014 - 2015)

Denice Kirchoff (2015-2016)

Leisa Muto (2016-2017)

Paul Reneau (2017-2018)

Jan Kiger (2018-2019)

Spencer Tyce (2019-2020)

Theresa Jones (2020-2021)

Mark Flood (2021-2022)

M.E. Gamble (2022-2023)

Barb Wierzbicki (2023-2024)



Image result for Nominate button image

Please make sure you have reviewed the eligibility, criteria, and deadline.


Please direct any questions about the awards to the Faculty Development Committee Chair Brian Blackwood

Faculty Recognition Award

 Faculty Recognition Award

Purpose and History

     This award is bestowed annually to a full-time faculty member who has made a consistent service contribution to the university, to the discipline, to the profession, to the student body, and/or to the community.  


     Full-time faculty who have not been recipients of the Faculty Recognition Award during the previous 5 years, whose primary duties are instructional, and who have a minimum of 2 years of service to Fairmont State University are eligible for nomination. Nomination for this award must come from peers. 



Nomination Process

Those who nominate should complete and submit the electronic nomination form explaining why the faculty member deserves consideration for the award. No anonymous nominations will be accepted, however, the nominator can choose whether his/her name will be disclosed to the nominee. The committee will ask faculty members who have been named if they will consent to the nomination.

Nomination Deadline

Friday, December 1, 2023

Selection Criteria

The committee hopes to obtain specific information about each nominee’s outstanding achievements in some of the following areas.  Examples of service include, but are not limited to:

  • Published journal articles or presentations of artistic or creative works
  • Contributions through committee work
  • Student recruitment and retention
  • Advancement of public support for Fairmont State University
  • Lectures and/or seminars to community groups

Application Process

     Those who have been nominated for the award and decide to move forward (to be considered for the award) are required to submit the following materials.  Applications should be submitted via email to

1. Application Letter (1-2 pages):

  • This letter should make a clear and persuasive case for why the Faculty Development committee should give you this award. It should include a biographical sketch or curriculum vitae which highlights your record of service projects during the past five years.

2. Two Letters of Support

  • One peer letter
  • One Dean or Department Chair letter


     In March, the Faculty Development Committee will review the materials submitted.

     The awardee will be notified prior to the Spring Faculty Awards Banquet, when the name of the recipient will be announced to the greater Fairmont State community.

Application Deadline

February 12, 2024