Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fairmont State University Faculty Awards and Grants 2021-2022: Home

Faculty Development Overview

     Comprised of faculty representing each college of Fairmont State University, the Faculty Development Committee oversees the distribution of faculty grants and awards. The committee's charge is to publicize and solicit nominations for Faculty Development grants and awards and to select the recipients for final approval by the president of the institution.

     Below are the various teaching awards and the eligibility guidelines.

William A. Boram Award

William A. Boram      This award is named for Professor William A. Boram, a faculty member who served as Vice President of Academic Affairs in the 1970s and was recognized by his colleagues as an energetic and cheerful supporter of faculty in their work of teaching, scholarship, and service.  The award is intended to recognize and honor outstanding achievements, unusual dedication, or accomplishments in teaching by full-time faculty at Fairmont State University.  The Boram Award is the University's most prestigious award for teaching.


  Innovation in Teaching Award

     This award is intended to honor or encourage outstanding, innovative, or otherwise distinctive teaching by faculty at Fairmont State University. 


Faculty Recognition Award

     The Faculty Recognition Award was established by the Faculty Senate to recognize faculty for their achievements as faculty and their outstanding contributions to students, colleagues, the institution, and the community, including creative endeavors, and other notable achievements. Recipients are encouraged to display material connected to their work and accomplishments in a display case in the library. This award is intended to honor excellence in teaching faculty and to encourage continuing efforts to excel.


Excellence in Online Teaching Award

        This award was established in 2021 when the Faculty Development Committee took the suggestion from Fairmont State faculty. This award is intended to honor faculty who show excellence in design, application, student engagement, student success in virtual course facilitation. 

Outstanding Adjunct Award

     This award is intended honor excellence in adjunct teaching faculty and to encourage adjunct faculty's continuing efforts to excel.


Award for Excellence in Academic Advising

     The Award for Excellence in Academic Advising was established in the early 1990s when Dr. Robert Dillman, the President of Fairmont State College, began to centralize advising under Dr. Ann V. Shaver.  This award is intended to honor excellence in academic advising. Nominees are selected by the Advising Council.


Image result for Nominate button image

Please make sure you have reviewed the eligibility, criteria, and deadline.

Faculty Grants Overview

The Faculty Development Grant

     Applicants are encouraged to design activities, projects, or programs which will contribute to their own professional development, benefit their students, and align with the mission of Fairmont State University.

The Falcon Grant

      All full-time faculty members are invited to submit proposals for appropriate scholarly projects or activities to the Faculty Development Committee. After consideration, the committee will recommend worthy proposals for final selection.


Please direct any questions about the awards to the Faculty Development Committee Chair




Faculty Development Committee

Committee Members (2021-2022):

   Brian Blackwood, Chair, Dept of Computer Science & Math

   Courtney Miller, College of Education

   Lisa Eades, College of Nursing

   Jojo Joseph, College of Science and Technology

   Sharon Mazure, Interim Library Director

   Elizabeth Savage, College of Liberal Arts

   Abby Chapman, Dept of Engineering Tech

   Kristi Kiefer, Dept of Health & Human Performance

   Ann Shaver, Dept of Behavioral Sciences
   Amy Godfrey, College of Business & Aviation


Ex-Officio: Dianna Phillips, Provost