Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
       

Citation Guide: Online Books & Chapters

A guide to citing your sources

Basics

Type the title of the book in sentence case. Capitalize the first word after a colon or end punctuation in the title. (pp. 185-186)

If you cite an electronic book,  give information about the format in square brackets after the title. (p. 186)

For electronic books, give the DOI or URL in place of publisher location and name. (pp. 187-192)

Entire E-Books p.202-205

Basic Format;

Author, A. A. (2000). Title of work. Retrieved from http://www.xxxxxxx

Author, A. A. (2000). Title of work. doi:xxxxx

Examples:

Cantor, Norman F. (2005). Alexander the great: journey to the end of the earth. Retrieved from http://wvdeli.lib.overdrive.com 

Melton, Trish. (2007). Real project planning: developing a project delivery strategy. Retrieved from http://www.sciencedirect.com

Milne, Antony. (2002). Sky static: the space debris crisis. Retrieved from http://www.netlibrary.com 

Entry in a Reference Book - Electronic p.202-205

Basic Format:

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (1990). Title of entry. In A. Editor & B. Editor (Eds.), Title of reference work ( xx ed., Vol. xx) Retrieved from http://www.xxxxxxxxx 

Examples:

DSM Library, PsychiatryOnline (Electronic version of a print reference work)  Supplemental Material for DSM

American Psychiatric Association. (2010). Narcolepsy. In Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders:
    DSM-IV-TR.
 (4th ed. text rev.). doi:10.1176/appi.books.9780890423349.10601.

Mental Measurements Yearbook (Electronic version of a print reference work)

Ireton, H. (1980-1995). Infant development inventory. Mental measurements yearbook  (Vol. 14). Retrieved from
    http://ovidsp.ovid.com

Gale Virtual Reference Library (Entry from an online encyclopedia with an author and an editor) (Electronic version of a print reference work)

Feenstra, J. (2002). Maslow, Abraham H. (1908-1970) In N. J. Salkind (Ed.) Child development [Adobe Digital Editions
    version]. Retrieved from http://go.galegroup.com

Credo Reference (Entry from an electronic encyclopedia, no author or editor) (Electronic version of a print reference work)

Community. (2003). In Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity & Culture. Retrieved from http://www.credoreference.com/entry
    /sageukrace/community

Oxford Reference Premium Online (Entry from an electronic encyclopedia with an editor) (Electronic version of a print reference work)

Distance learning. (2008) In Wallace, S. (Ed.) A dictionary of education. Retrieved from http://www.oxfordreference.com

NetLibrary (Entry from an electronic encyclopedia with an editor) (Multivolume work)

Blood transfusion. (2007) In Romaine, D. S. (Ed.) Facts on file encyclopedia of health and medicine (Vols. 1-4).
    Retrieved from http://www.netlibrary.com/

Business and Company Resource Center (Company history from an online directory)

PepsiCo, Inc. (2008) In International directory of company histories (Vol. 93). Retrieved from
    http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/BCRC

LexisNexis Academic (Online company reports)

PepsiCo, Inc. (2009, Sept. 22) In Hoover's company records - in-depth records. Retrieved from http://www.lexisnexis.com
    /us/lnacademic/

Book Chapters - Electronic p.202-205

Basic Format:

One or More Authors

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (1990). Essay title. In A. Editor, B. Editor, & C. Editor (Ed(s).), Title
    of book
. Retrieved from http://www.xxxxxxxxx

No Author

Title of entry. (1990). In A. Editor (Ed.), Title of book. Retrieved from http://www.xxxxxxxxxx

Examples:

Opposing Viewpoints

Kaplan, T. (2004). Human rights for women are receiving greater attention. In L. Egendorf (Ed.), Human Rights. Retrieved
    from http://find.galegroup.com

NetLibrary

Slomski, G. (2001). Acupuncture. In Iron-Georges, T. (Ed.) Health issues [Adobe Digital Editions version] (Vols. 1-2).
    Retrieved from http://www.netlibrary.com

ScienceDirect

Mckenna, L., & Gerdhard, A. (1998). Hearing disabilities. In Bellack, A. S. & Michel, H. (Eds.) Comprehensive clinical
    psychology
(Vol. 9). Retrieved from http://www.sciencedirect.com